h1

Another year, another pineapple.

March 9, 2010

So Chaz celebrates another year sobriety and recovery.  Late in relation to the date, but celebrated nonetheless.

BTW… no big hidden or double meaning to the header… I take pineapples rather than cakes.  Just a health and fitness preference.

I wasnt going to do a public “cake” (pineapple) this year.  Frankly, I have grown weary of public meetings.  I stepped aside and did a step series over the past 4 months and nary have been to a public AA meeting.  Frankly, tired of many outside agendas I experience in meetings. 

Wanted to dig into the steps and connect with others in recovery on a meaningful and authentic level.  Hard to do that in a room of mixed genders and multitude of intents for people being there.

So three other guys and I met weekly, privately and worked through the steps once again.

Then a trusted and loyal friend pointed out to me that people newer to the program may benefit from knowing more publicly that I found things that work.  So I re-joined a home group and took a celebratory sobriety anniversary pineapple.

I came, once again, to the conclusion that the rooms of AA are really only a small part of my program of recovery and sobriety.  They help keep me in fellowship, share what I have received, and receive new things and things I have forgotten.

The power comes from fellowship and seeking the will of God as I understand him.  When we gather in his name, he shows up.  Even if everyone is not entirely sure who he really is.  Lights come on and eyes begin to open.

Good things happen.  Every time.

Ciao

Chaz

9 comments

  1. Congratulations! Thanks for your posts and for sharing your sobriety. Your friend is right, other people benefit by hearing about what works for you. And you stay sober in the process by sharing.

    Happy 24 hours,

    Man Alive


  2. Congrats on another year. Thanks for being a part of my recovery.
    Bob D.


  3. Thanks guys. Funny how we can overlook what is so obvious to others eh? I suppose that is the value of fellowship.

    Ciao.

    Chaz


  4. Congrats!


  5. Congratulations!!! That’s an amazing milestone – you should be very proud.


  6. Congrats on your anniversary. It is good to share them at a meeting so newcomers can see that it works. Even if you don’t want to be there, we all need a home group and people who care about us on a daily basis.

    We all have motives and agendas, but I think for myself, my home group is a safe place just to be me.

    Congrats again.
    Jeremy


  7. Thanks all…. yes, to think an sobriety milestone celebration is a selfish thing is short sighted. Yet, we are often set up for a rah-rah session of self when we go to our cake meeting. So I suppose it is dual-edged in this respect.

    I suppose I have seen an awful lot of people use AA meetings to gain attention and have become somewhat alergic to such behaviour.

    Yet I realize should not throw out baby with bathwater. Many good things happen in spite of unhealthy motives…. even in spite of our own unhealthy motives.

    Proving once again that God works through the imperfect and is bigger than our weaknesses and selfishnesses.

    Ciao.

    Chaz


  8. I like what you said, “Lights come on and eyes begin to open. Good things happen. Every time.”

    You going back to AA meetings helps. First, you receive strength from other people in the group. Second, you make a difference in the meeting. People need you!

    Personally, i have to constantly remind me that it’s not about me; it’s about the person or people i’m with. How i can benefit them? Looking for ways to serve is my strength.

    Chaz, congratuations; Celebrate! Your celebration gives hope to others.

    Thanks for your blog.
    You Make a Difference!


    • Thanks CPA…. I am glad I returned to meetings with a renewed perspective. In spite of the fact that many mixed motives fly around the room, good can still come of it for me and others.

      Ciao

      Chaz



Leave a Reply

