h1

Recovery approach to career choices.

July 4, 2009

I am at a crossroad in my career.  My company is experiencing the downdraft of our economic situation and may not renew our distribution contract so we may fold in the next year.

It is amazing how life works.  I made a move to this career 2 1/2 years ago from another line of work I did for over a decade and had anticipated retiring from in another 20 years.  It was a tough decision, but I had to make it for the sake of my recovery.career change

I burst out of the gates in this new line of work and did extremely well in my first year.  Second year not bad either.  This year is adequate but not great.  Future is uncertain.

So here I am again looking at a change at a time I really do not want to make one.  Yet never in my life have I been more able to do so.  Never before have I had a ways to order my thinking such that this crossroad is manageable.

By practicing Step 12, specifically, “applying the principles of recovery to all of my affairs”, I am getting through this phase better than I ever would have handled it at any previous time of my life.

I am less anxious, and more confident in surrendering the unmanageable parts of this journey to God as I understand him.  I am busy, but not striving.  I am working hard at this career change, but not panicking or flailing.  I am ambitious, but not desperate.

As a result, some of the most amazing circumstances and opportunities are coming my way.  I have learned to limit my expectations for any one of them.  Many things that look good one day, are less appealing the next.  And things that look unappealing one day, all of a sudden reveal themselves as something better.  There is just no way to pin life down and set laser-beam accurate expectations.

We can be wise, but never exact.  By that I mean that if I make the most wise decisions daily in how I spend my time and energy, I know that good things will result.  I just do not know exactly which good things.

I believe the Bible.  God as I understand Him is God of the Bible.  In the Bible, I read that (paraphrased)…. I do not need to be anxious.  Instead, I can choose a different pathway and be grateful for everything I have.  I can also continuously put my requests to God when I pray.  The result is peace that passes all understanding.

So I am not anxious about this career change.  I do not need to listen to negative voices.  Especially those in my head.  And those in our culture that suggest that a job change is horrifying.  Instead, I can refocus on what I do have.  I have a home, a wife, great kids, my health, my sobriety, and job-wise, I still have a great job and I am well looked after.  I have a company car and benefits, even though our market is slow and our company may fold.  That’s a lot to be grateful for isn’t it?

One would have a hard time being anxious while holding those thoughts of gratitude front and centre in one’s mind.  Yet when some anxiety does try to sneak in, I can shoot it up to God.  I can surrender it to him.

This is a great way to live.  Way better than drinking.  Way better than thinking the way I used to.

Ciao.

Chaz

7 comments

  1. Right on, Chaz!

    Recovery principles do offer a new way of thinking, acting, moving in the world and this new mode is “Way better than drinking. Way better than thinking the way I used to.” Thanks for the reminder of how important and valuable these things are.

    Happy 24 hours!

    Man Alive


  2. Whatever you’re having, I’ll have a double! This is exactly how I want to be. Well-written post, Chaz. With this attitude, I have complete confidence in your ability to rebound from this weak economy.

    I’m gonna have to read those 12 steps. I hear they’re for everyone when you get right down to it.


  3. Man Alive…. ya…. thanks…. this is the practicing these principles in all of our affairs.

    Thinking and behaving in ways that are methodical and productive…. instead of painful and destructive like our alcoholic tendancies tend to steer us.

    Its working. Thats what really matters.

    Ciao.

    Chaz


  4. Teev…

    The steps are simply a way of ordering our thoughts and behaviours that orignally worked for alcoholics…. then it was dicovered that it works for many other compulsive behaviours of thought and action.

    So ya…. am happy I stumbled accross the steps. They are not everything… but they are amazing.

    Ciao.

    Chaz


  5. Hey Chaz

    Jagz51 here,I totally agree with your outlook on life and wanted to thank you for this blog and the awesome post you write about recovery from your addictions.

    My own recovery from drug addiction through the 12 steps and believing in a higher power greater than myself has helped me to realize we are all spiritual beings born of innocence in this world.

    It’s the humanistic values that are instilled in us from a young age that destroys that spiritual being inside of all us and through our life experiences as bad as they may be is what usually leads us back to finding that spiritual being born within all of us.

    Like you Chaz, I live a whole life today,drug free and God as my higher power and the 12 steps are part of my life everyday.

    Spiritualism has given me the strength to move forward each and everyday and the spiritual being inside me is alive and thriving and enjoying life little pleasures daily.

    Thanks Chaz

    P.S Thanks for the awesome comment @ http://jagz51.wordpress.com/


  6. Thanks Jagz…. will cruise your blog more often.

    Sounds like we have travelled similar paths.

    Ciao.

    Chaz



Leave a Reply

