h1

Stuck with one another?

May 9, 2009

“All men are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality”, Dr. Martin Luther King.martin luther king

This quote speaks clearly of the point that we are communal creatures and we cannot avoid being in “mutuality”, even if we wanted to.

Lets face it, we are herd animals.

Mutuality implies that there is reciprocal interaction and exchange between people. 

So does it not stand to reason that if we cannot get along with others, that we are kidding ourselves that we are functioning in  healthy ways?

Is there anyone who you consider to have a successful life but whose relationships suck?  So therefore, are relationships not key indicators of of emotional and spiritual health?

And if life is not about relationships, what is it about?

Ciao

Chaz

One comment

  1. “Is there anyone who you consider to have a successful life but whose relationships suck? So therefore, are relationships not key indicators of emotional and spiritual health?

    And if life is not about relationships, what is it about?”

    I so agree with you Chaz that relationships are indicators of emotional and spiritual health. Life is ALL about relationships.

    I believe that is one of the MAIN reasons God put us here and lets us interact with people. We should
    be constantly building healthy relationships and friendships. But people have to want to give of themselves to others outside their “cliques” and outside of their families. How can we show Christ’s love to others if we don’t do this?

    I KNOW that I am not one that always does this. My depression sometimes makes me want to crawl deep inside a hole and never, ever come out. BUT, when I am having good days, I try to make sure I go out of my way by showing Christ’s love. We may be the ONLY Jesus that people ever see.

    So many people today get so wrapped up in their own lives and their own issues that they don’t see that person they live by, work with, or even go to church with suffering. We have to intrude into people’s lives to make sure that they know we love them and TRULY care for them!

    I went on my first mission trip to Africa last August and let me say that some of the people I went with from my church don’t know how to show Christ’s love to those who really need it. I was appalled at how I was treated when I was struggling there. I am Bipolar and have depression. My meds were messed up with the time change, etc., and I have never traveled without my husband. Also, I didn’t know the people I was with from our church well. (Our church is big) This “leader” of our group shunned me, treated me like an outcast and doesn’t even speak to me now. Ever since the trip he acts like I am not even visible. We can be in the same hallway walking by each other, and unless I speak to him, he ignores me. The same goes for a few others. I am sorry, but that is WRONG!

    How can we expect to get along as brothers and sisters in Christ if you can’t even treat someone with a little bit of respect?

    This is another reason I am fed up with my church. I really feel like no one there cares. It is a big church, (to me) with three Sunday services. Our average attendance is 1,100 on Sundays. My husband and I have taught a preschool Sunday school class for the five years we have been here attending this church. We tried to be part of a Sunday school class for a few months, but we never felt included or a part of the class. We decided to go ahead and start teaching, since we had always taught in the past.

    I appreciate your blog. You have a lot of good insight. Thanks also for your response to my blog. It helped me think about things a little differently.

    Kim
    South Carolina



Leave a Reply

